Upcoming Talent

Standard

Wouldn’t we all like a spinning chair?
Credit: Pedestrian.tv 
 

Benjamin Hansen – @ben_hansen

Well, I’m sure most Australians would have heard of the new Channel Nine reality singing show, The Voice.

If you’ve been living under a rock or somewhere in Australia where you cannot receive TV broadcasts, I’ll find you a little brief on what The Voice is.
According to every students bestfriend:

“The Voice is is a multinational singing competition television franchise. The series started in the Netherlands as The Voice of Holland in 2010. Many other countries have adapted the format and began airing their national versions in 2011 and 2012.”

When Channel Nine started their advertising for this new program, my initial thoughts were, ‘Oh here comes another Idol, or X-Factor, just what we need, more hopeful singers being told they sound horrid.’ And to be honest, at first I didn’t watch the program (yes Channel Nine, your ad campaign didn’t work on me!), but one night I came home from Uni and decided to do a bit of channel surfing before Q&A came on. I thought I’d give it a go, and to my surprise, it was pretty good. All the artists seemed to have prior experience unlike other singing shows; meaning there was no cringe factor.

Then I heard it, this guy came on and sang a cover of MGMT’s Kids – one of my favorite songs. This guy was brilliant! It was as if Matt Corby had – heaven (aka indies) forbid – decided to do a cover of a relatively mainstream song!

I did some research and came up with his YouTube and SoundCloud channels, and listened to a few more of his covers and creations, and to say the least, this guys has some talent!

Now if you’re a frequent viewer of The Voice, I’m fairly sure you’d know who I’m talking about, yeah? He’s the scruffy guy who was last week called the Australian version of Edward Cullen. His name is Lakyn Heperi, the 19 year old semi-pro skateboarder from little old Melbourne town, who sought a music career after breaking his ankle and retiring from skateboarding for eight months.

A quick Google search will show that this bloke has a fairly big fan base, and as you know you’ve made it when fans create Twitter accounts called “@LakynsArmy, and @LakynsCrew“. (I’m too scared to look on Facebook for anymore!)

But all in all, this guy has some pure talent and I wish him the best of luck in his ventures through the murky waters of reality television, and hope that he does win, as his voice and apparent ocker appearance are a nice refresher from the world of auto-tuned ‘wanna be’ singers erhh, a certain T-P_ _ _  😉

I recommend you all check out this guys talent. And no, I am not on commission to write this – unless Channel Nine would like to be generous? – I just wanted to share some of the music that I’ve been listening to of lately.

Thanks, Ben.

Things That Were – Lakyn Heperi

Kids (MGMT Cover) – Lakyn Heperi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JRd14g1e1qM

Leave a Reply

