Week One Roundup

Standard

Next Exit!
Photo: University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Benjamin Hansen – @ben_hansen

So the day arrived!

This past Monday, the 18th of June, I started my first internship as a journalist at Key Media’s Sydney based magazine Your Investment Property. A magazine, like the title suggests, focussing on investment in the property market. The magazine also features the stories of readers who have invested in property after reading an issue and had success in the market.

On my first day I was thrown straight in. After arriving and going through the usual occupational, health and safety ‘stuff’. I was then shown my desk and assigned to writing a feature on a man from northern Queensland who had had success after his first attempt at investing in the property market. A little bit nervous about being thrown into the deep end, but I put on my floaties and tried my best to get the most newsworthy information out’ve the interview I was given.

My second and third days involved writing small ~300 word articles on one suburb for each state and territory of Australia that would be included in each corresponding state’s monthly roundup. This involved contacting real estate agents and asking them questions on investment in the area, as well as reasons why potential investors should spend their money in that suburb. This was interesting and I enjoyed speaking to agents from across Australia.

That’s what I got up to this week as an investment/finance journalist intern. Who knows what the next five weeks will hold for me!

P.S: Any journalism or media students wanting to start an internship with a media company, should have a look at the blog My Interning Life as well as La Trobe University’s Upstart Magazine.

– Ben

 
Links:
Leave a Reply

